Moth Skull

I could have sworn I gave this piece it’s own post. It’s one of my personal favourites.

Started out as a graphite drawing:

406493_10150627142731294_950311095_n

Then, I decided to try making a digital painting version, using GIMP. It’s either my first try at doing an actual painting in GIMP, or my second, but I’m pretty sure it’s the first one.

6968652631_f0cef095ab_h

And I was really happy with how it turned out, right up until I hated it and decide to redo it from scratch after becoming more familiar with GIMP.

And so this incarnation came to be:

mothskull-tablet-finished.jpg

Annnd, another incarnation was used as a promotional poster for Hugh Howey’s book, I Zombie. Which I must tell you makes me idiotically giddy, considering how much I like his books. In the future, I will be holding a contest to win one of 3 full colour posters, which are part of a limited number that have been signed by Hugh Howey.

http://www.hughhowey.com/this-friday-night-at-the-tin-roof/

6774079320_21f74ed34d_b

Leave a Reply

