Experimenting.

I’ve been wanting to do actual physical scribbly drawings, and have found that ball point pens seem to work best. After trying it out on paper, I started thinking that it would look kinda cool on canvas, my subconscious replied that ball point pen does not belong on canvas. I asked it why the hell not and it had no response, so…I am experimenting.

This is ballpoint pens (blue & white gel) + liner on canvas. It’s one of my previous digital scribbly sketches, though I left a fair amount of the original out, as I really just wanted to see how it would look on canvas before I try a full piece. Also, to test how the white gel pen would work over the darker pens. The camera sort of dulls the white, so imagine those parts as brighter.

The only real problem is that, with a digital piece, I’m working on a MUCH larger scale, so the lines look much thinner, and I’m able to get better detail with them because of that.

ballpoint rose

Leave a Reply

