Amber and Jolie

I figured I should give each piece it’s own post. It’s part showing off, part advertising I guess, and part individualizing the works for people who haven’t seen them outside of the gallery I have of them on here.

First the technicalities. This is a graphite piece on bristol paper, primarily using a mechanical pencil. I prefer crisp lines and I haven’t found anything better for that than smooth bristol paper, so it’s my medium of choice. The paper is 9 in by 12 in, and sealed with matte finishing spray for everything except the dog’s eyes and the sun glasses’ lenses which were sealed with high-shine finishing spray. The scan job pretty much negates the shine, which annoys me to no end, let me tell you.

I loved this piece when I was done, as I do any that I draw from the heart and I still do. Only the more time goes by, the more my first thought on seeing it is, “I could do this better. I should try it again.”  Which is pretty typical for me, if I encounter the slightest flaw that I know I can fix, I am irrationally compelled to start all over again. It’s a memorial drawing, for the loss of Jolie, the dog portrayed. I still tear up when I think about it/look at it and knowing how very hard it was to lose my own dog. Hell, it’s been almost 10 years and I cry over that dog from time to time.

 

Source taken by Hugh Howey (Showing his wife, Amber and dog, Jolie):

4 thoughts on “Amber and Jolie

  1. Wow. This is amazing! You’ve really captured the love in this picture.
    I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your own dog. Although it might get numbed down gradually, the pain of loss never really seems to entirely go away. In that sense 10 years is no time at all and I don’t think there’s any shame in crying sometimes.

Leave a Reply

