I'm So Sorry

Why do you keep screaming at me?

What am I supposed to do?

I know you’re angry! I’m sorry! I’m so sorry! Please stop, please help me understand what I must do. I’ve tried everything I know to do. I’ve tucked my tail in between my legs, I’ve cowered, I’ve done everything I can to show you my submission, my apology for existing. All I want is for you to be happy, and to be fed and kept warm. But most of all for you to be happy. Starve me, beat me, but if you’re happy, I’ll try my best to be happy too, I’ll love you despite what you do to me.

How many others would do this for you? And yet it’s not enough?

I don’t understand what you’re saying, I don’t know what you want; how could I? I don’t speak your language, I don’t think like you do. I don’t see things the same way. Give me time, give me patience, I’ll try my hardest, I’ll figure it out, but I can’t just know right away.

Imagine being in a foreign country, where they don’t speak your language, and they don’t have similar customs. Imagine you’re all alone there, with nothing to help you grasp your situation or the people you find yourself surrounded by. Now imagine that these people are screaming their lungs out at you. Imagine them kicking you, slapping you, withholding food, water and basic shelter when you don’t understand them. When you couldn’t possibly be expected to understand. Imagine you’re trapped there, with the people abusing you, with no known hope of escape.

Then maybe you might have an inkling of what I’m going through.

step 12 - blind_dog sketch

(Digital sketch drawn freehand using GIMP + Bamboo Fun Tablet using source photo from Lakela of deviantArt, not a photo-manipulation or trace.)

Leave a Reply

